Best of Both Worlds?

Best of Both Worlds?

PostBy: Former WoodHog On: Mon Oct 21, 2013 9:47 pm

OK folks, here’s my situation. I’ve been doing supplemental wood heat for about 30 years. I work with a rabid coal burner, a great guy, who’s clearly in stage 4 of ‘Stoker Madness’ ;)  He introduced me to the forum and I’ve been soaking it up for a few months now. It’s a great place, thank you all for your participation. :D

It may be that I want something I can’t have: The best of both worlds. The ability to gather around the hearth on a frigid January eve, reading the forum, savoring the radiant heat from the woodstove and enjoying an amber, while having the furnace carry the bulk of the load from 10p until 6p the next evening, with attention to its needs, of course.

I plan to install a wood/coal furnace in the basement, (Yukon Big Jack and Harman SF-1500 are my 2 front runners)tied to our existing duct work but do not want it to be too warm in the house, as we would prefer to have a small wood fire in the Vigilant many evenings.
At the risk of being laughed outta here, I should say I honestly enjoy all that gathering firewood entails and am blessed to have access to a fair amount of it, as I’ve gained the reputation of being the guy to call when your locust tree falls in your field.

That being said, at 59, it may only be a few years before I, too, succumb to Stoker Madness!
If one of my primary concerns is my ability to be able to regulate (read ‘not overheat’) our 2500 sq ft fairly well insulated, 26 year old home, please give me some input.
With a little practice I’m hoping to be able to control the delivery of heat primarily between the hours mentioned. Currently, there are 2 existing thermo-controlled dampers in the supply ducts, one for the main living area, and the other for the in-law apt where my daughter and son-in-law reside.
Generally, is this obtainable? Any opinions and input very welcome!
Thanks again ! :)
Former WoodHog