Introduce Yourself

Re: Introduce Yourself

PostBy: SWPaDon On: Thu Nov 28, 2013 3:02 pm

Hello everyone. I live in Southwest Pa. and I've been burning Bituminous coal for about 5 years in a Clayton 1600m. I live in an old Plank style house that was built in the late 40's .
SWPaDon

Hand Fed Coal Furnace: Clayton 1600M
Coal Size/Type: Bituminous. Labeled as 'Big Vein', about the size of acorns. Makes a lot of ash, but heats well and lasts longer than my previous coal.

PostBy: michaelanthony On: Thu Nov 28, 2013 3:48 pm

Welcome SWPadon, great day to join!
michaelanthony

Hand Fed Coal Stove: Vigilant 2310, gold marc box, vogelzang pot belly coat rack
Coal Size/Type: Pea, and a little nut
Other Heating: Very cold FHA oil furnace

PostBy: fordman43 On: Fri Nov 29, 2013 1:32 pm

hi I live in maine cold up here about 24 degrees right now was 14 this morning ...new to the sight trying to learn what I can ...looking for a stove
fordman43

PostBy: freetown fred On: Fri Nov 29, 2013 6:37 pm

Welcome to the FORUM fm--any questions, have at it. There's a lot of info at your disposal:) Remember, the only stupid questions are the one's we don't ask :)
freetown fred

Hand Fed Coal Stove: HITZER 50-93
Coal Size/Type: BLASCHAK Nut/Stove mix

PostBy: fordman43 On: Mon Dec 02, 2013 8:44 am

thanks Fred just trying to learn as much as I can about burning coal everyone here in maine burns wood or wood pellets ...
but I want to give coal a try ... looks like im going to have to go for a stoker because where I want to install it will have to be power vented ...
this forum has already been very helpful ...
I live in small town in n central maine work for a ford garage here house is 110 year old farm house apx 1850 sq. ft. 10 foot cielings ...
started burning pellets last yeargot a theilin 40,000 btu stove burned 5 ton of pellets - dropped my oil consumption from 800 gallons to 130 gallons
but really not as warm as id like to be ... I think a good coal stove will fix that .