Coal Prices on Long Island for 2014 ???

fishhead631
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Harman TLC-2000
Coal Size/Type: Nut
Other Heating: UGH! Oil burner.. Gets me sick just thinking about it.

Post by fishhead631 » Thu. Jul. 17, 2014 10:38 am

Hi,
Wondering what price/ton users on L.I. are experiencing this summer?
I'm new to burning Coal ( burnt wood for years).
Tks in advance.
Eddie

tcalo
Baseburners & Antiques: Crawford 40
Coal Size/Type: Nut/stove anthracite

Post by tcalo » Fri. Jul. 25, 2014 10:45 am

Welcome Eddie

I just bought 4 tons of loose nut from Rella Coal in Medford. I paid about $265 a ton, delivery was $25. Bagged coal was about $365 a ton. Hope this helps.

Tom

fishhead631

Post by fishhead631 » Fri. Aug. 01, 2014 9:41 pm

tcalo wrote:Welcome Eddie

I just bought 4 tons of loose nut from Rella Coal in Medford. I paid about $265 a ton, delivery was $25. Bagged coal was about $365 a ton. Hope this helps.

Tom
Tks Tom... Will you actually go through 4 tons over the winter? Seems a lot of coal.
I figured I'd burn no more then 2-2.5 tons... (Was burning 2 - 2.5 cords of wood a season).
Seems more expensive then wood now if I'm going to burn more coal.
Have a good weekend!

tcalo

Post by tcalo » Sun. Aug. 03, 2014 7:38 am