Yellow Flame to Tri-Burner Conversion. What Do You Think?

waldo lemieux

Post by waldo lemieux » Sun. Jul. 20, 2014 4:12 pm

StokerDon wrote: I even made a second combustion blower choke piece so I could realy lower the combustion air, still lots of black in the ashes and 80 to 110 pounds of coal a day.
I am totally new at stokers but shouldnt you increase air if your getting unburnt coal off the end? or slow the feed rate? As I said Im new at stokers and have a lot to learn so Im probably wrong but I cant figure out why :?

waldo

StokerDon
Site Moderator
Stoker Coal Boiler: Gentleman Janitor GJ-5, Van Wert VA-600, Axeman Anderson130 X3.
Hand Fed Coal Furnace: Harman SF3500 reduced down to 3 grates connected to its own plenum
Coal Size/Type: Rice, Chestnut and whatever will fit through the door on the Harman
Other Heating: Noth'in but COAL! Well, Maybe a little tiny bit of wood

Post by StokerDon » Sun. Jul. 20, 2014 5:57 pm

Waldo,

This is not the case where unburnt coal is falling off the grate or lit coal falling off the end of the grate, that would be to high of a feed rate as you correctly pointed out. This is more about how thoroughly burnt the coal that ends up in the ash pan is.

That being said, you may be right as McGiever pointed out the small chimney may be causing me to run to little combustion air and resulting in the unburnt coal.

-Don

Rob R.
Site Moderator
Stoker Coal Boiler: EFM 520
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Chubby Jr

Post by Rob R. » Sun. Jul. 20, 2014 7:42 pm

Insulating the boiler and piping will make a measureable difference. Do that first.

Consider a secondary blower to maintain the idle fire. Keystoker added it to reduce unburned coal and outfires.

StokerDon
Site Moderator
Stoker Coal Boiler: Gentleman Janitor GJ-5, Van Wert VA-600, Axeman Anderson130 X3.
Hand Fed Coal Furnace: Harman SF3500 reduced down to 3 grates connected to its own plenum
Coal Size/Type: Rice, Chestnut and whatever will fit through the door on the Harman