Keystoker KA-6 Anthracite Boiler

Nate5266
Stoker Coal Boiler: Keystoker KA-6
Coal Size/Type: Rice Coal

Post by Nate5266 » Tue. Jul. 22, 2014 7:58 am

Hello all,
I am new to this tread but I have read alot on here. I am looking into installing a Keystoker KA-6 144,000 BTU boiler with more fin tube as there is far more room for expansion of piping for my old 1876 farm house. The house is about 2,000 sq. ft. sealed pretty good in the winter and has a 1980's Utica 150,000 BTU propane boiler in the basement right now. I mainly heat with wood in our wood stove (not efficient at all old wood stove and most heat is out chimney) and keep the propane as a back up. Even heating with wood this year we went through a full tank of propane (and 25 face cord of wood) which will cost about $1,000 to refill propane. I have read and come to the conclusion that coal stoker is far more efficient than any other heating fuel. We plan to leave the propane boiler in the basement hooked up but as a backup along with the wood stove upstairs to help out on those below zero nights. I have multiple questions maybe a few experienced coal burners may be able to answer.

1) With a Keystoker KA-6 I do believe I can hook it up to my clay chimney no problem. My chimney is 8" dia. inlet and 8" square up. Would I need anything to make this work?

2) I plan to stock about 5 ton of loose coal in my basement in a coal bin I plan to make. Would this be enough?

3) What all do I need for the KA-6 besides the unit and plumbing (rehostat, powervent, etc...)?

4) What all should I need to know before making the ultimate decision in joining the coal burning community?

Pacowy
Stoker Coal Boiler: H.B. Smith 350 Mills boiler/EFM 85R stoker
Coal Size/Type: Buckwheat/anthracite

Post by Pacowy » Tue. Jul. 22, 2014 10:35 am

The 8x8 chimney should be fine as long as it is high enough to produce adequate draft. A barometric damper would be needed to maintain the proper draft.