New to Coal With Koker Lite

ElCamMan515
Hot Air Coal Stoker Furnace: Keystoker K-Lite
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Surdiac Gotha 513
Coal Size/Type: Rice and Pea Anthracite

Post by ElCamMan515 » Sun. Sep. 14, 2014 9:52 am

Hello All,

My wife and I purchased our first home in April 2014, it had oil heat and we did not want to pay for oil this coming winter. I did a lot of research in regards to wood, pellet and coal stoves. I ended up purchasing a Koker Lite coal stove due to the heat output of coal. My house is 2100 sq. ft and hope to keep t-stat at 68-70 though winter. Well, I fired it up for the first time yesterday and it warmed the house to 68 degrees no problem. Since I am new to burning coal, do the pictures below look correct for when t-stat is calling for heat and idle? Any input will be greatly appreciated.

Fire bed when t-stat is calling for heat:

Fire bed while idle:

Lightning
Site Moderator
Stoker Coal Boiler: Modified AA 130
Coal Size/Type: Pea Size - Anthracite

Post by Lightning » Sun. Sep. 14, 2014 9:57 am

ElCamMan515 wrote:hope to keep t-stat at 68-70 though winter.
With the thriftiness of burning coal,
74 degrees really feels nice on a cold winter's day..
Don't be shy... :D

tsb
Stoker Coal Boiler: Binford 2000
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: LL Pioneer top vent
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Saey Hanover II
Baseburners & Antiques: Grander Golden Oak , Glenwood # 6
Coal Size/Type: All of them

Post by tsb » Sun. Sep. 14, 2014 11:24 am

Your fires look perfect.

shanedoe

Post by shanedoe » Sun. Sep. 14, 2014 11:31 am

Not sure about koker lite but regular koker you want only 1-2 in of ash at end of grate at full burn. Looks like you may have a little more.

WNYRob
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Keystoker Koker controlled with CoalTrol

Post by WNYRob » Mon. Sep. 15, 2014 8:19 am