Free Coal in Newark NJ

JWLLY3500
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Hitzer 50-93

Post by JWLLY3500 » Thu. Jun. 12, 2014 8:37 pm

I'm not sure where this should be posted, so I apologize if it is in the wrong spot. Last night I drove to Newark, NJ to look at some free coal in the basement of a 7 story building. I would say there is about 30 tons of it that the guy just wants to get rid of! It was hard work but I took 2 tons out in 5 gallon buckets and it seems to be pretty nice stuff. I have burned pea coal for 5 years and I always go to the breakers north of Tower City and Hegins PA, so I am no expert on quality of coal. The building was built in 1890 and the boiler is the size of a full size van. The coal looks like pea with just a little bit of smaller stuff than I am used to.

How can I know if it is anthracite?

What should I be concerned about?

Does anyone else want some? I only burn about 2 tons a year.

Thanks in advance for any advice. I don't want to take 30 tons of coal that turns out to be junk.

I'm On Fire
Hand Fed Coal Stove: DS Machines DS-1600 Hot Air Circulator

Post by I'm On Fire » Thu. Jun. 12, 2014 8:56 pm

You're a brave man. Newark is a warzone. When I have to work in that hell hole those work orders go to the bottom of the pile and those jobs are done when I'm specifically told, 'These jobs are past due and need to get completed.', after about 100 times.

JWLLY3500

Post by JWLLY3500 » Thu. Jun. 12, 2014 9:15 pm

The scenery was a little different than what this farm kid is used to. The building is about 150 yards from the Prudential center.

davidmcbeth3
Coal Size/Type: nut/pea/anthra

Post by davidmcbeth3 » Thu. Jun. 12, 2014 9:33 pm