Oh Harman How I Love You...

EPugs45
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Harman Mark II
Coal Size/Type: Nut Coal
Other Heating: Oil Furnace/Propane Stove

Post by EPugs45 » Tue. Nov. 18, 2014 12:02 pm

Yep we are nice and toasty and I don't have to run my oil furnace the whole winter so I'd say pretty good! 8-)

scoobydoo
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Leisure Line Pioneer LE top vent
Coal Size/Type: Rice

Post by scoobydoo » Tue. Nov. 18, 2014 12:20 pm

EPugs45 wrote:This is only our second year with the stove so I'm still a newb when it comes to coal. It's set in the fireplace and I don't have any thermometers on it currently. I have been trying to figure out where you would put them seeing as I don't really have pipe that is easy to reach / read thermometers. Can you put it directly on the stove? We replaced the gaskets and cleaned everything including the chimney and we just replaced all the piping. I don't have a manometer. I'm like the gym guy. I put coal in, I light coal, coal get hot lol. I burn about 40 lbs per 24 hours and it heats my whole house, that's about as far as my experience goes. That's what I love about this forum I'm always learning something. I doubt I'd be doing very well without these forums.
How about an Infrared thermometer?Just point and shoot.

EPugs45

Post by EPugs45 » Tue. Nov. 18, 2014 1:18 pm

oooohhh good idea Scoob I saw one of those in a flyer recently and thought that was a pretty great idea! :idea:

scoobydoo
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Leisure Line Pioneer LE top vent
Coal Size/Type: Rice

Post by scoobydoo » Tue. Nov. 18, 2014 2:51 pm

EPugs45 wrote:oooohhh good idea Scoob I saw one of those in a flyer recently and thought that was a pretty great idea! :idea:
I have one and I like it.I have a brother that lives in Wallingford and we both went to high school in Clinton.

anthony7812
Stoker Coal Boiler: VanWert VA 400
Coal Size/Type: Buck/Anthracite

Post by anthony7812 » Tue. Nov. 18, 2014 3:50 pm