Carbon Monoxide Troubleshooting Checklist?

shredder_54

Post by shredder_54 » Thu. Nov. 20, 2014 12:04 pm

I am still relatively new to coal stoves. This will be my 3rd winter using my Alaska Channing III coal stove. I did not have many problems the first 2 winters. I had to replace the feed control box last year and had a couple of occasions where my CO detectors went off. When this happened in the past it was fixed by vacuuming out the inside of the stove and the horizontal section of the flue. This year however I am again having CO issues and cannot resolve it by vacuuming as I had done in the past. Before I started the stove this year I completely vacuumed the inside of the stove and the horizontal section of the flue. When I initially started the stove in October and was getting CO alarms I thought it was because the weather was too warm (in the 50's during the day) and was affecting the draft. I decided to wait to re-start until last week (temps now 20-45 F) and it was working OK for a few days but then my CO alarms stared going off again. I am getting low levels of CO (50 ppm or lower) but obviously this needs to be resolved before I can safely re-start and run this stove.

Can anyone give me a checklist of items to inspect to solve this problem?

My first plan is to have a chimney sweep come out and clean the flue. I suspect there could be an ash buildup in the vertical section of the flue going through the ceiling and onto the roof that I can't see or get to with the vacuum. My other thought is that maybe the ceramic fiber gaskets on the doors need to be replaced?

Any help is appreciated!

michaelanthony
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Vigilant 2310, gold marc box stove
Hand Fed Coal Furnace: Gold Marc Independence
Baseburners & Antiques: Home Sparkle 12
Coal Size/Type: 'nut
Other Heating: Fujitsu mini split, FHA oil furnace

Post by michaelanthony » Thu. Nov. 20, 2014 12:36 pm

do you have one of these to measure draft?