Safety Precautions

Muddy Jeep
Hand Fed Coal Furnace: Hot Blast 1557
Other Heating: Oil Furnace & Propane Fireplace

Post by Muddy Jeep » Thu. Nov. 20, 2014 6:30 pm

For those of you who don't know, this is my first year burning coal and I have a hand fired hot blast furnace. So far I'm loving it. Estimated that I have already saved about $150 in oil and its only been a month. Anywho, I have a concern regarding power outages. I understand that generators and power inverters can be used and work great....if someone is home. However, what safety precautions, if any, do you guys have if they power goes out and nobody is home to hook one of these up to keep the blowers running. My fear this that without the blowers transferring heat away from the furnace that it will overheat quickly. For instance the other day, it got down to 10 deg at night and I had the fire blazing. The over the load door temp got up to 450-500 deg with the damper only open 1.5 turns and the baro starting to open at 0.025". Is this too hot for this type of stove? Burning at this temp it kept the house at a nice 73 all night long. I'm curious and fearful as to how fast that would rise if the blowers went out for more than a couple minutes. How much heat can a hand fired furnace handle since they are not made out of cast iron? How quickly would a mild (250 deg) fire climb if the blowers were not on for an extended period of time? If I knew I was going to be out for a while I might turn the damper down a little depending on the temp of the stove and the temp outside, but I'm still nervous about what might happen otherwise.

Lightning
Site Moderator
Stoker Coal Boiler: Modified AA 130
Coal Size/Type: Pea Size - Anthracite

Post by Lightning » Thu. Nov. 20, 2014 8:04 pm