Anthracite Coal Delivery in SE NY

JohnD.
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Crane 44
Coal Size/Type: nut coal

Post by JohnD. » Tue. Oct. 28, 2014 5:14 pm

Hi Tom,
Glad to hear about your good experience with Rella coal. And I'm a Viet Nam vet, so your tip about them honoring vets is really good to hear. Since delivery won't happen for a few weeks, hopefully they'll give me a price adjustment. Bethlehem might be cheaper, but the price I paid in quality and ash - and labor - isn't worth it to me.
Thanks for all your help.
John

tcalo
Baseburners & Antiques: Crawford 40
Coal Size/Type: Nut/stove anthracite

Post by tcalo » Tue. Oct. 28, 2014 5:18 pm

JohnD. wrote:I'm a Viet Nam vet
Thanks for your service and God Bless!

hardfire
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Franco Belge 475
Other Heating: Yep, Oil Burner baseboard hot water

Post by hardfire » Fri. Nov. 28, 2014 2:41 pm

I'm on Long Island, too... glad to read your comments - I thought there was something wrong. Last year was the first time I had a problem burning, the quality of my second delivery seemed low - too much ash and poor burn quality. Unfortunately, I've still got about 1.5 tons of that coal. I washed it thoroughly this summer to try and flush out dirt and fines. It also seemed to have trash in it - bits of wood, stones, etc. Was it the bottom of a bin? I'm also considering Rella as my main supplier as a result. The "other dealer" had a change of personnel, which coincided with the poor quality coal.

JohnD.

Post by JohnD. » Sun. Nov. 30, 2014 12:00 pm