Coal Quality on Long Island

JohnD.
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Crane 44
Coal Size/Type: nut coal

Post by JohnD. » Sat. Dec. 13, 2014 10:06 am

I'm at a loss these past few years about the quality of coal on Long Island. This fall, I inserted new firebrick (thanks to Doug Crane). After getting a load of bad burning coal from one dealer last year, I tried the other LI coal dealer this year. The few bags of Blaschak coal that I bought from them burned clean with a minimum of ash, but storing bagged coal is difficult on my property. I have a 2-ton coal bin, so I ordered their bulk nut coal. After a day of burning, large pieces of coal fuse together and won't allow me to shake down the ash properly. The fire goes out after 2 days of burning no matter what I do. I've been burning coal for over 30 years and have not had this problem before. Has anyone else out there experienced this dilemma, and do you know of any solutions to the coal forming oversize clinkers and suffocating the fire? There's a long winter ahead, and right now I have to start yet another coal fire.

lzaharis
Stoker Coal Boiler: Keystoker KAA-4-1 dual fuel boiler
Hand Fed Coal Boiler: former switzer CWW100-sold
Coal Size/Type: rice
Other Heating: kerosene for dual fuel Keystoker/unused

Post by lzaharis » Sat. Dec. 13, 2014 10:30 am