Spraying Latex

Richard S.
Mayor
Stoker Coal Boiler: Van Wert VA1200
Coal Size/Type: Buckwheat/Anthracite

Post by Richard S. » Fri. Feb. 12, 2016 7:17 am

I have very little experience with spray guns.

I'm doing some baseboard radiator covers. About two years ago using regular spray gun I was able to spray some latex primer onto one, It seems to have worked really well. Afterward I sprayed it with two coats of high gloss clear from a rattle can. I don't see any problems with the finish at this point.

The primer is Valspar bonding primer. It's really thick and almost dries instantly. Research said said to mix it with some water. I was using about 1:10. I had some difficulty with it and had to turn the gun up past it's max pressure.

My question is, will adding more water be an issue?

michaelanthony
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Vigilant 2310, gold marc box stove
Hand Fed Coal Furnace: Gold Marc Independence
Baseburners & Antiques: Home Sparkle 12
Coal Size/Type: 'nut
Other Heating: Fujitsu mini split, FHA oil furnace

Post by michaelanthony » Fri. Feb. 12, 2016 7:49 am

Richard S. wrote:I have very little experience with spray guns.

I'm doing some baseboard radiator covers. About two years ago using regular spray gun I was able to spray some latex primer onto one, It seems to have worked really well. Afterward I sprayed it with two coats of high gloss clear from a rattle can. I don't see any problems with the finish at this point.

The primer is Valspar bonding primer. It's really thick and almost dries instantly. Research said said to mix it with some water. I was using about 1:10. I had some difficulty with it and had to turn the gun up past it's max pressure.

My question is, will adding more water be an issue?