Cookin' With Coal

Canaan coal man
Stoker Coal Boiler: Efm 520
Hand Fed Coal Stove: A little cubby coal stove in the basement
Baseburners & Antiques: Glenwood #6
Coal Size/Type: Stove And Nut

Post by Canaan coal man » Thu. Feb. 16, 2017 9:20 am

Paul, sorry for all the questions Im just starting to learn about these cook stoves. Do all the stoves have direct and indirect draft mode(oven mode)? What are safe clearances to combustibles and floor protection for these ranges?
Thanks
brenden

Sunny Boy
Hand Fed Coal Boiler: Anthracite Industrial, domestic hot water heater
Baseburners & Antiques: Glenwood range 208, # 6 base heater, 2 Modern Oak 118.
Coal Size/Type: Nuts !
Other Heating: Oil &electric plenum furnace

Post by Sunny Boy » Thu. Feb. 16, 2017 10:07 am

Brenden,

All the ranges I'm familiar with have the "oven damper" direct/indirect mode. If there are any that don't, I've yet to come across one. It's one of the things that make it a range and not just a simple cook stove like the early kitchen cook stoves that ranges evolved from.

BTW, stoves like yours and mine are not technically "cook stoves". They are "ranges", which are what cook stoves evolved into as more features were added starting not long after the Civil war. Glenwood starting making ranges in 1878 and our member Wilson (Wilsons Woodstoves) has one of the earliest with his 1879 Sunny Glenwood that is mentioned early on in this thread.

As for clearances, most accepted the non-UL listed stoves recommendation of 3 foot minimum to combustible materials.

However, for ranges I stumbled on an exception in the Maine State fire codes that allows less clearance for "cookstoves". They can use 30 inches instead of 36 inches. I haven't been able to see if that is also mentioned in the National fire codes. All that is posted in the stove clearances thread here, Stove and Stove Pipe NFPA Clearances.